top of page
Miller_WhatWeDevour_Cover-683x1024.jpg

FROM THE AUTHOR OF MASK OF SHADOWSCOMES THE DARK AND INTRICATE STORY OF A GIRL WHO MUST TETHER HERSELF TO A VIOLENT RULER TO SAVE HER CRUMBLING WORLD.

Lorena Adler has a secret—she holds the power of the banished gods, the Noble and the Vile, inside her. She has spent her entire life hiding from the world and her past. She’s content to spend her days as an undertaker in a small town, marry her best friend, Julian, and live an unfulfilling life so long as no one uncovers her true nature.

But when the notoriously bloodthirsty and equally Vile crown prince comes to arrest Julian’s father, he immediately recognizes Lorena for what she is. So she makes a deal—a fair trial for her betrothed’s father in exchange for her service to the crown.

The prince is desperate for her help. He’s spent years trying to repair the weakening Door that holds back the Vile…and he’s losing the battle. As Lorena learns more about the Door and the horrifying price it takes to keep it closed, she’ll have to embrace both parts of herself to survive.

Sometimes you have to bite the hand that feeds you.

A 2022 Lambda Literary Awards finalist in Young Adult fiction!

praise

“A triumphant dark fantasy, What We Devour serves up an incredibly smart magic system with a side of eat-the-rich energy. Perfect for fans of Wicked Saints and anyone who likes their romances equal parts swoony and stabby. This is my favorite Linsey Miller book.”

- Rosiee Thor, author of Tarnished Are the Stars

“What We Devour has my new favorite magic system. Miller pulls no punches in a stark examination of class structures and the consequences of conflating worth and wealth set against the backdrop of a post-apocalyptic fantasy world. With a cunning main character and visceral prose that will leave you haunted, this book is a dark delight.”

- Kalyn Josephson, author of The Storm Crow duology

“Dark, mesmerizing and wildly original, What We Devour is a captivating fantasy you won’t be able to put down.”

- Andrew Shvarts, author of The Royal Bastards trilogy

“What We Devour has everything you could want in a dark fantasy: intricate worldbuilding, a fascinating magic system, biting social critique, charming morally gray characters, and a heroine to die for. Come hungry, because this one is a dark feast.”

- AdriAnne Strickland, author of In the Ravenous Dark

“What We Devour is a brilliant and bloodthirsty read that pulls no punches, makes us question all of our actions, and begs us to find a way to change the world.”

- Laura Pohl, author of The Last 8 duology

“What We Devour is a twisting, complex puzzle box, effortlessly weaving sinister bargains, deadly magic, and the ethics of power and sacrifice. With an unforgettable cast and themes achingly relevant to today’s readers, this book is not to be missed.”

Margaret Owen, author of The Merciful Crow duology

“Excellent asexual representation in Lorena, rich worldbuilding, political intrigue, and a cast of prickly, passionate characters round out the satisfyingly complex plot. Particularly masterful are the shifts in Lorena’s narrative perspective that reflect the sacrifices of significant memories…Mind-bending and incisive.”

- Kirkus Reviews

bottom of page